Latest Social Report 2016 | Social Report 2010 | Previous reports | Contact us
Download for Regional council areas:

Regional council areas

This section presents social report indicator information for people living in the 16 regional council areas of New Zealand.* Summary population data is also provided for context.

The indicator information is provided in maps and tables. The map colours show how the regions compare. The regions with the best outcome against the indicator are coloured dark green and those with the worst outcome against the indicator are coloured dark red, with regions in between shaded in lighter colours. The colour coding of the maps is consistent for all the indicators. Dark green always indicates regions with the best outcomes, regardless of whether this is associated with a low figure (eg cigarette smoking) or a high figure (eg participation in early childhood education). While each map shows the variation in outcomes by region, the actual difference in the outcomes may be small. The maps show information for the most recent year. The tables include time series information where possible.

* These regions comprise 12 regional council areas and four unitary authority areas, but are generally referred to collectively as regional council areas.

List of regional council areas:

  • Northland
  • Auckland
  • Bay of Plenty
  • Gisborne*
  • Waikato
  • Taranaki
  • Hawke’s Bay
  • Manawatu-Whanganui
  • Wellington
  • Tasman*
  • Nelson*
  • Marlborough*
  • Canterbury
  • West Coast
  • Otago
  • Southland

* Unitary authority areas.